May challenge - Alien excavation

Deadline for entry:

April challenge Voting open!

LRaphaelC's first steps into the online art world

20 Jul 2014 11:40 - 20 Jul 2014 11:51 #3556 by LRaphaelC
Hi there, this is my first post on the new forum, I was a member of the old one, but stayed more as a watcher than actually actively posting, so hopefully this time round I'll be a bit more active. I'm a student in the UK and recently got paid for my first piece of art, which was a pretty weird feeling, so I thought it time to join the online community and share some of my work. I'll try to put up finished work fairly regularly, hopefully studies won't get in the way of the fun art making.

This first piece was a something I started for fun at 2 in the morning in pencils then decided to colour in photoshop, It was really started as a study of stylised cloth, then I just kept going and woke up to find it under my head finished.

Hope people enjoy it, thanks.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

20 Jul 2014 11:57 #3558 by Charlotte
Welcome to the forum!

Your image is looking quite interesting! I like all the colourful "folds" (especially the bit with skulls) but admit it took me a while to see a character in there! :)

Any an all misspellings are henceforth blamed on the cats.
The following user(s) said Thank You: LRaphaelC

20 Jul 2014 12:04 #3560 by Digital Dave
Very nice work. I too had to look before seeing the figure, but think that's pretty neat that it kind of hides there in plain sight. (so to speak) ... And welcome, look forward to seeing more works. :)

I get sketchy around pencils! ...=D

20 Jul 2014 12:14 #3562 by LRaphaelC
Thank you Charlotte and Dave for your kind words :).

I was a bit worried about it being unclear whilst I was drawing it so I thought I'd add a the small details (skulls etc) to try and intrigue the viewer into looking closer and then hopefully seeing the figure, I'm glad it worked somewhat.