April challenge - Banana for scale!

Deadline for entry:

March challenge Winner announced!

Beneath outside

11 Apr 2017 09:53 - 11 Apr 2017 11:39 #15729 by Geir
Beneath outside was created by Geir
Yo, I just been reminded of this place by Charlotte. It seems I have been a member here some three years. Just forgot about it :) Oh well, I'll give the place a new go.
For the ones that might remember me from ImagineFX, I mostly did digital art over there. Nowadays its mostly graphite and polycolor pencil drawings (when I'm not composing music). This wip is a charcoal drawing, and its a challenge I gave my self. First of I just let the charcoal run a bit wild on the paper to create a messy surface with blurry shapes. I used a brush and eraser to help lifting the shapes. And i Think about three fixings in between before I started drawing.
The first two images is the first stages of making random shapes and tones.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

11 Apr 2017 09:54 - 11 Apr 2017 11:41 #15730 by Geir
Replied by Geir on topic Beneath outside
Now its time to listen to the paper, and see what shapes will emerge. And the first lines is put down.

Attachments:

11 Apr 2017 09:57 - 11 Apr 2017 11:41 #15731 by Geir
Third stage, and some shading has started. I had now idea here what would happen further. And already here I started to be annoyed about the humanoid figure I had drawn. The reason is that I wantet this to be the same kind of organic abstract figures I usually draw. But as this was all about _me_ listening to the _paper_, I let it stay there.

Attachments:

11 Apr 2017 09:59 - 11 Apr 2017 11:42 #15732 by Geir
Time to get some spacial feeling into the thing. And something more concrete is starting to emerge.

Attachments:

11 Apr 2017 10:03 - 11 Apr 2017 11:42 #15733 by Geir