April challenge - Banana for scale!

Deadline for entry:

March challenge Winner announced!

Attos' Sketchbook and Studies NSFW Nudity

02 Sep 2015 23:03 - 02 Sep 2015 23:04 #12206 by Atto
Thought I would start a sketchbook thread as the studies etc I intend to work on aren't really wips.

There are still some anatomy and proportion issues to the following but I want to post in order to see (if) how I'm improving. As always crit is more than welcomed.

No smudge tool was harmed in the making of this image.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

03 Sep 2015 07:38 #12214 by Yian
My critic to you here is the same I offered in another thread. Don't think about painting. Do some drawings first.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Atto

03 Sep 2015 22:35 #12222 by Valence
I rather like the lighting in the second one. Yes, there are some proportional issues like the position of the left side eye and the detailing of the nose (and I'm no expert on doing noses either!) but the way the light falls off across the right side cheek is very well observed.

05 Sep 2015 09:27 #12234 by Atto
Thanks for the comments,

Yian- I know, I know ;) I'm doing those too! but I dont want to focus exclusively on drawings as I finally feel I.m getting somewhere with my painting.

Val- Thanks, that was one of the reasons I chose this study - Im currently looking for a study to do with some stronger highlights and darker ambient light eg a single light bulb as a source or in front of a bright window. A friend of mine did a pencil sketch of himself to illustrate the song 'Cast No Shadow' by Oasis that worked realy well.

K, so on with the studies -
A simple sketch in an attempt to improve my anatomy - may end up rendering just the one arm (sorry Yian)

Attachments:

05 Sep 2015 15:16 - 05 Sep 2015 15:21 #12235 by Atto
More drawing practice