April challenge - Banana for scale!

Deadline for entry:

March challenge Winner announced!

Advices for a newbie

25 Dec 2014 14:06 #7843 by Darksider
Hi. I'm pretty new in digital art and I seek some advices. In the past, I have made some 3D models for games, but soon realised that I really need a proper base in traditional art. I have discovered ImagineFX, with interesting images for sight-see drawing, but tutorials are way too advanced for my level. I need your advice on tutorials I should follow and how to get a proper start in drawing. How should I practice ? What are your techniques ? How did you begin ? I am at the very beginning in 2D art drawing.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

25 Dec 2014 14:18 #7844 by Domtopia
Replied by Domtopia on topic Advices for a newbie
Hey there Darksider!

Come on in and have some fun!!

Just show us your stuff and the advice will flow. It's a pretty friendly place and if you listen to the feedback, you will see improvement pretty quickly. I speak from experience here!

Looking forward to seeing what you got!!

Everything's on the right!!!

It's like driving abroad!

25 Dec 2014 14:54 #7845 by Digital Dave
Replied by Digital Dave on topic Advices for a newbie
Welcome darksider. What Dom said, and post some work up.

I get sketchy around pencils! ...=D

25 Dec 2014 16:45 #7853 by Darksider
Replied by Darksider on topic Advices for a newbie
Unfortunately, there is not enough light to photograph my sketchbook properly. Tomorrow I will post some 2D sketches. For now...I will post some of the 3D ones.

Sorry for the pics improper size. Here you could see my first humanoid character, a Guild Wars 2 Charr I modelled for my guild's header contest, a fortress and a frame from my old school animation.

26 Dec 2014 10:57 #7855 by Darksider
Here are some of my 2D sketches . ( again, sorry for the size. Don't know what is the proper one )

26 Dec 2014 21:54 #7856 by crankshaft